Hamburg

Graue Welle - Hansa-Park

The Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg is Germany’s second largest city and one of the birth places of the Hanseatic League. The Port of Hamburg has become Germany’s largest seaport. Of course, Hamburg’s history would be incomplete without the legendary tales of Klaus Störtebeker, a famous pirate.

Bardowicker Speicher im HANSA-PARK
Reimerstwiete 21 im HANSA-PARK
Kramer-Amtsstuben im HANSA-PARK

Bardowicker Speicher (Deichstraße 27, Nicolaifleet)

Bardowicker Speicher in Deichstraße is one of the oldest extant warehouses in Hamburg. Most of Hamburg’s buildings were destroyed in the Great Fire in 1842. Thanks to the “Rettet die Deichstraße” [save Deichstraße] association that collected donations to preserve Deichstraße, the houses were not demolished in 1970. Today Deichstraße is an historic pedestrian precinct.

Reimerstwiete 21

Reimerstwiete is a street located opposite of Hamburg’s historic Speicherstadt [warehouse city] on the island of Cremon. Several of its dwellings and warehouses still sport a gable crane. Its half-timbered buildings are the last remnants of an architectural style that once marked Hamburg. Today a wine restaurant is located at Reimerstwiete 21.

Krameramtsstuben (Krayenkamp 10)

Near the tower of St Michaelis church are the Krameramtsstuben, half-timbered courtyard apartment dwellings built from 1620 to 1700. From 1676 onwards they were used as holiday flats for the widows of members of the wealthy guild of small shop owners (Krameramt). In 1866 the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg took over the Krameramtswohnungen and rented them out to single elderly ladies. The dwellings were listed as heritage buildings in 1933. Today they are the last examples of 17th-century Hamburg courtyard apartment dwellings.

"HANSEATIC LEAGUE in EUROPE"

Country overview "HANSEATIC LEAGUE in EUROPE"

Theme "HANSEATIC LEAGUE in EUROPE"

Hamburg

Graue Welle - Hansa-Park

Die Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg ist die zweitgrößte Stadt Deutschlands und einer der Geburtsorte der Hanse. Der Hamburger Hafen ist seit dem Beginn der Hansezeit zum größten Seehagen Deutschlands gewachsen. Natürlich ist auch die sagenumwobene Legende von Klaus Störtebecker ein fester Bestandteil der Hamburger Geschichte.

Bardowicker Speicher im HANSA-PARK
Reimerstwiete 21 im HANSA-PARK
Kramer-Amtsstuben im HANSA-PARK

Bardowicker Speicher (Deichstraße 27, Nicolaifleet)

Der Bardowicker Speicher in der Deichstraße ist eines der letzten noch erhaltenen Gebäude des alten Hamburgs. Denn der Großteil der Hamburger Gebäude wurde 1842 bei einem großen Brand zerstört. Nur durch den Verein „Rettet die Deichstraße“, der Spenden zum Erhalt der Deichstraße sammelte, konnte der Abriss im Jahr 1970 verhindert werden. Heute ist die Deichstraße eine historische Fußgängerzone.

Reimerstwiete 21

Die Straße Reimerstwiete liegt gegenüber der Speicherstadt auf der Cremon-Insel. Dort befinden sich mehrere Wohn- und Speicherhäuser, die teilweise sogar noch einen Giebelkran besitzen. Die Gebäude sind die letzten der Fachwerkbauweise, die Hamburg einst prägte. Heute befindet sich in der Reimerstwiete 21 ein Weinrestaurant.

Krameramtsstuben (Krayenkamp 10)

Unterhalb des Kirchturms der St. Michaeliskirche befinden sich die Krameramtsstuben. Diese 1620 bis 1700 errichteten Fachwerkhäuser dienten ab 1676  als Ferienwohnungen für Witwen von verstorbenen Mitgliedern des wohlhabenden Krameramts. 1866 übernahm die Freie und Hansestadt die Krameramtswohnungen, die fortan als Unterkunft für ältere alleinstehende Damen diente. Die gesamten Wohnungen wurden bereits im Jahr 1933 unter Denkmalschutz gestellt. Heute bilden diese Wohnungen die letzte geschlossene Hofbebauung des 17. Jahrhunderts in Hamburg.

"HANSE in EUROPA"

Länderübersicht "HANSE in EUROPA"

Themenwelt "HANSE in EUROPA"