Lübeck

Graue Welle - Hansa-Park

Our theme world “The HANSEATIC LEAGUE in EUROPE” wouldn’t be complete without the queen of the HANSEATIC LEAGUE - the Hanseatic city of Lübeck - which is located just 30km away from HANSA-PARK. Lübeck had been the “headquarters” of the Hanseatic League since 1361, whose fleet comprised up to 200 merchant ships in its heydays.

Lübecker Rathaus im HANSA-PARK
Holstentor im HANSA-PARK

Lübeck Town Hall

The town hall of Lübeck is one of the most beautiful Gothic-style brick buildings of its kind in Germany. Construction started in 1226 shortly after Lübeck was granted Reichsfreiheit, an imperial charter, and became a free imperial city. The town hall was completed in 1308. The addition with its huge façade featuring differently coloured bricks and sharp towers was only erected in 1435. The Renaissance staircase on Breite Straße was built in 1594 based on the design of the Flemish sculptor Robert Coppens. It led to the former treasure of the town hall, the Kriegsstube (war room), which was destroyed in March 1942 in the first heavy air raid on Lübeck and not rebuilt. The name shows that the Hanseatic League not only had economic power but political power too, giving it a say in decisions on peace or war.

Holstentor

Lübeck’s Holstentor arguably is the most famous intact late medieval city gate in Germany and one of Lübeck’s landmarks. It was built around 1464 to 1478 as part of a modernisation of the fortifications on the River Trave. The premier purpose of the gate was to defend the inner city, but it also served to represent the Hanseatic City of Lübeck.

"HANSEATIC LEAGUE in EUROPE"

Country overview "HANSEATIC LEAGUE in EUROPE"

Theme "HANSEATIC LEAGUE in EUROPE"

Lübeck

Graue Welle - Hansa-Park

Die nur 30 km entfernte „Königin der HANSE“, die Hansestadt Lübeck, darf in der Themenwelt „HANSE in EUROPA“ natürlich nicht fehlen. Lübeck war seit 1361 der Hauptstandort der Hanse, deren Flotte in ihrer Hochzeit bis zu 200 Handelsschiffe umfasste.

Lübecker Rathaus im HANSA-PARK
Holstentor im HANSA-PARK

Lübecker Rathaus

Das Lübecker Rathaus ist eines der schönsten Rathäuser Deutschlands im Backsteingotischen Stil. Der Bau des Gebäudes begann im Jahr 1226, kurz nach der Verleihung der Reichsfreiheit für Lübeck. Das Rathaus wurde 1308 fertiggestellt. Der heute sehr bekannte Anbau mit seiner großen Schauwand, verschiedenfarbigen Ziegeln und  spitzen Türmen entstand erst im Jahr 1435. Die Renaissancetreppe an der Breiten Straße wurde 1594 nach den Plänen des flämischen Bildhauers Robert Coppens errichtet. Sie führte zum einstigen Schatz des Rathauses, der sogenannten Kriegsstube. Diese wurde jedoch im März 1942 bei dem ersten schweren Luftangriff auf Lübeck zerstört und nicht wieder aufgebaut. Die Namensgebung zeigt, dass die Hanse neben dem Einfluss auf die Wirtschaft auch in der Politik bedeutsam war. Dies konnte auch oftmals über Krieg und Frieden entscheidend sein.

Holstentor

Das Lübecker Holstentor ist das wohl bekannteste noch erhaltene Stadttor des Spätmittelalters in Deutschland und zugleich auch eines der Wahrzeichen Lübecks. Es wurde zwischen 1464 und 1478 im Zuge einer Modernisierung der Befestigungsanlagen an der Trave erbaut. Das Tor diente in erster Linie der Verteidigung des Stadtkerns, aber auch zur Repräsentation der Hansestadt Lübeck.

"HANSE in EUROPA"

Länderübersicht "HANSE in EUROPA"

Themenwelt "HANSE in EUROPA"